al Qaeda threat '01'
Bomb-making video reveals scope of al Qaeda threat
August 21, 2002 Posted: 5:48 PM EDT (2148 GMT)
From Nic Robertson     CNN
Tapes show al Qaeda trained for urban jihad on West
August 21, 2002 Posted: 4:22 AM EDT (0822 GMT)
From Nic Robertson     CNN
Previously unseen tape shows bin Laden's declaration of war
August 20, 2002 Posted: 3:30 PM EDT (1930 GMT)
From Nic Robertson   CNN
An al Qaeda instructor mixes ingredients for an explosive in this video obtained by CNN. Experts say the tapes show al Qaeda recruits training for operations in an urban environment. Flanked by bodyguards, bin Laden flinches as a rocket-propelled grenade passes over him during a training exercise.
ATLANTA, Georgia (CNN) -- An al Qaeda videotape obtained by CNN shows a level of sophistication in bomb making that would allow terrorists to arrive in a target city unarmed and easily put together high-explosive devices to carry out destructive attacks, experts who saw the tapes say. ATLANTA, Georgia (CNN) -- Osama bin Laden's al Qaeda network has trained recruits in urban terrorist tactics that could be used to bring the group's brand of jihad to Western cities, according to experts who viewed tapes obtained by CNN in Afghanistan. ATLANTA, Georgia (CNN) -- A never-before-seen al Qaeda video obtained by CNN shows Osama bin Laden declaring war against the United States and the West.
The tape of a May 26, 1998, news conference is among 64 obtained in Afghanistan from a source, who said the tapes were found in an Afghan house where bin Laden had stayed.